## BOARD OF EDUCATION THAYER R-II SCHOOL DISTRICT REGULAR MEETING March 9, 2023

The Board of Education of the Thayer School District R-II, Oregon County, Thayer, Missouri met in Regular Session on March 9, 2023 at 6:00 p.m. in the High School Library.

PRESENT: Cotham, Honeycutt, Franz, King-Smith, Morris, Pender, Underwood ADMIN & STAFF: Woods, Andrews, Pitts, Breedlove, S. Bryant, Leonard

Regular meeting called to order at 6:00 pm.

- 1. Motion by Morris and seconded by Underwood to approve the agenda as printed. Unanimous 4-0
- 2. Motion by Franz and seconded by Underwood to approve the Minutes of the Regular February 16, 2023 meeting. Unanimous 4-0

Honeycutt arrived at 6:05 pm

- 3. Motion by Franz and seconded by Honeycutt to approve the February Financial Report Unanimous 5-0
- 4. Motion by Morris and seconded by Franz to pay bills and transfer funds as needed. Unanimous 5-0
- 5. Motion by Underwood and seconded by Franz to approve the K-9 Proposal effective immediately. Unanimous 5-0

King-Smith arrived at 6:35 pm

6. Motion by Underwood and seconded by Franz to approve the 2023 Summer School Dates as June 5-June 30, 2023. Unanimous 6-0

Pender arrived at 6:51 pm

- 7. Motion by Franz and seconded by Cotham to approve the 2023-2024 School Calendar. Unanimous 7-0
- 8. Motion by Underwood and seconded by Morris to go into closed session at 7:38 p.m. to discuss Personnel Matters pursuant to RSMo.610.021(3) Student Matters pursuant to RSMo 610.021 (6). Cotham- yes, Honeycutt yes, Franz-yes, King-Smith yes, Morris-yes, Pender-yes, Underwood yes

It was the decision of the board to offer tenured contracts to the following elementary teachers for the 2023-2024 school year: Sydney Rehm and Marilyn Jerome.

It was the decision of the board to offer probationary contracts to the following non-tenured elementary teachers for the 2023-2024 school year: Shelby Simpson-Long, Tammy Dorton, Kayla Sisco, Jesse Ortiz, Hannah Hurst, Amy Lowther, Abigail Hancock, Brittani Vanwinkle, Whitney Vogler, Miranda Freeman, and Rachel Holthaus.

It was the decision of the board to offer a tenured contract to Jacob Collins as a high school teacher for the 2023- 2024 school year.

It was the decision of the board to offer probationary contracts to the following non-tenured high school teachers for the 2023-2024 school year: Teanna Simpson, Zachary Steed, Molly Chester, Leslie Allen, Briar Hancock, Denny Young, Charles Ballard, Teresa Garrison.

It was the decision of the board to offer a probationary contract to Samantha Martin as an elementary teacher for the 2023-2024 school year.

It was the decision of the board to offer a probationary contract to Elizabeth Williams as an elementary Title I teacher for the 2023-2024 school year.

It was the decision of the board to offer a probationary contract to Maegan Bell as a high school teacher for the 2023-2024 school year.

It was the decision of the board to offer a letter of intent to Stephen Bryant for Lawn & Grounds for the remainder of the 2022-2023 school year.

It was the decision of the board to give Stephen Bryant a stipend of \$6,000 as Dog Handler; to be prorated for the remainder of the 2022-2023 school year and \$6,000 for the 2023-2024 school year.

9. Adjourn: With the acknowledgment of no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 9:37 pm.	
Alan Pender, President	Attest: Board Secretary